We Need To Talk About “We Need To Talk About Kevin” Yes, you read that right!

So I don’t very often get to see a movie on my own, but this one came through Netflix, and I put it on.  I knew it was about a school violence incident and the effects it had on the parent of the perpetrator.  Did I spell that right?  What I mean is the little bastard that armed himself and did what he did.

Tilda Swindon was the mother, and I have to say I think she was perfect in the role.  All of the children who played Kevin couldn’t have been better and I wanted to hit John C. Reilly through the movie, but that means he was pretty much awesome.

Have you seen it?  I want to talk to you! I have questions and comments.  If you do chime in, please just write SPOILER ALERT if you’ll spoil some of it for those of us who haven’t seen it yet.  Here is the link to the official site – http://www.oscilloscope.net/films/film/56/we-need-to-talk-about-kevin

 

It bears major discussion!

Did you see it? Are you planning on it??

4 thoughts on “We Need To Talk About “We Need To Talk About Kevin” Yes, you read that right!

  1. Yes. I agree. The diaper changing part was kind of harrowing. I think it was also very telling – but about both mother and son. I want to read the book, but seeing how much the movie bothered me, I can only imagine how disturbing that would be. It’s kind of a shame it stayed so low profile.

  2. I just saw this movie recently and really loved it. I liked the ethereal way of story telling and the flashbacks. The ending was not surprising, yet powerful. I thought Tilda Swinton was perfect for the role of the mother who never really loves the child she brings into the world.

    • I agree 100%! I thought it was done so well, and the end was, I think, mildly surprising in a sickening way for me. I believed there was something there that would have prevented it from happening, if you know what I mean. Do you think it was all her fault? Do you think she tried to love him? Do you think that the father was to blame at all? I’m curious!! Thanks for responding!

      • Yeah your first inclination would be to blame the father for being so clueless. Then when you start seeing the cracks in her own make-up and how she treated him, and how distant and cold she remained, you began questioning did she make him that way or was he just born to do what he did (trying to be careful of spoilers). And the husband just fed into the dysfunction by not trying to understand things from her perspective or back her up and she in return resented her son more. I don’t believe it was all her fault, but she definitely contributed to the psyche of it all.

Leave a Reply

