Children

Photo from Flickr  Some rights reserved by Hamed Saber

I won’t print, type or say the name of the monster who took the lives of 26 people in Connecticut. I won’t give it any more fame or notoriety. I’m so afraid to let myself feel the depths of my compassion for the parents and family members of those who are gone because I’m afraid I won’t come back whole from that dark place. To say that my heart goes out to them just does not do it justice.

I haven’t told Kiddo what has happened. I’m afraid it will rob her of a piece of her childhood, and I just don’t want that to happen. Am I wrong? She’s 6, and she’s afraid of Golum from The Hobbit. She’s afraid of feathers. Neither of those will ever hurt her, and I wish life could stay that way.

How are you handling this? Are you talking to your children? How old are they? Are any of you as overwhelmed by this as I am?

To anyone who fantasizes or plans  this kind of horrific thing, please, do what you always do and start and finish with yourself.  No one needs to go with you, because trust me, you’ll be in way different places on the other side.

Finally, I want to thank the heroes of Sandy Hook School in Connecticut for putting  children’s lives above their own:  Victoria Soto, Dawn Hochsprung, Mary Sherlach, Maryrose Kristopik, Kaitlin Roig, Abbey Clements, and Yvonne Cech and the janitor who ran through the halls alerting everyone that there was a gunman who had forced his way in.  May those who did not survive rest in peace.

2 thoughts on “Children

  1. I agree with you in so many ways. I love your post, but I must say, please, allow your child to know what happened in a very limited way. Do take away her childhood thoughts or worries, but please share with her. She needs to know that a friendly face “could” be the face of a shooter…God Bless.

Leave a Reply

