A Different View Of The Holocaust And Its Survivors

 

My friend Howie posted this on Facebook today, and I was so completely taken aback by these photos that I really wanted to share them with you.

When you think of photos from that time period, they are awful and hopeless feeling.  Naturally.  These photos are the opposite, and the text is incredibly heartwarming and interesting.

Growing up Catholic to parents who were older than most of my friends’ parents gave me some insight on WWII and what was happening in the US that many people my age aren’t privy to.

My mother told me about Bund meetings that took place which were rabidly anti-Jew.  She also told me that ships would try to come here loaded with people looking to save themselves and their families, but were turned away.  Those are things that made her sick.  My dad was stationed in the South Pacific during the War.

I want to share this with you, and I hope you’ll consider sharing it as well.  We can add this energy to our memories of history and we’ll all be the better for it.  In the meantime, I salute all who were murdered during the Holocaust (the Jews, the gays, the handicapped, the wrongly Christian, etc) and those who helped to rescue the survivors.

 

 

 

20 Photos That Change The Holocaust Narrative | Pop Chassid.

2 thoughts on “A Different View Of The Holocaust And Its Survivors

Leave a Reply

